Knowing What You’re Painting

I had a friend ask me to do a painting for her and I happily said..sure. She said she wanted something with the Om symbol, I had to quickly look it it up, I had no idea what it was. Come to find out it is a symbol of something I did when I took Yoga (long before I had children). It is a beautiful symbol with a lot of meaning. Something worth looking up, here is what I have been able to research:

ohmWatercolor, Gouache and gold paint pen

The Meaning: Om is the all encompassing Cosmic vibration of the universe.

There are 5 states of Om:
The Unconscious State – Deep sleep
The Waking State
The Dream state
The Absolute State
Illusion/Maya

I have also noticed there other variations of this symbol.

I am not knowledgable enough on this subject to go into detail but when someone asks me to do a piece of art and I am not sure what it is or what its meaning is, I do the research.

Leave a Reply

