A Pretty Good Lesson Learned

In my journey to practice with Galaxy backgrounds I choose to do a tree with my second practice painting. Because the background was so dark I used white gouache to create the tree, I knew the first layer would pull up the watercolor, which it did. I figured I could get the white tree I was aiming for with another layer or two….

Night Tree1

As you can see, that did not happen. I did about 3 or 4 layers and each time the watercolor bleed into the white gouache, I even tried using very little water in the gouache. I am thinking even if I would have used the white Ink it would have done the same. So lesson learned but not upset, I still like the way the background came out. Now it is time to experiment with a few different colors with the galaxy type background.

Leave a Reply

