Stepping out of my Comfort Zone

So I decided to step out of my comfort zone, someone I know asked me do do a dinosaur for their sons Teacher. My original response was, “I have never drawn a dinosaur before, but I will give it a try.” To the computer I went to get some references to what I was to draw. The teacher did not want a “cute” dinosaur and she wanted it big. What kind of a dino did she want you ask? A big T-rex. As I grabbed some sketch paper the one thing that ran through my head was, “I can’t do this”I wanted to give up before I even started. It took a few try and references before I came up with this:

rough draft t-rex

Not half bad, you could tell what is was and I thought it came out good. I got the go ahead and started the “BIG” one. Now if I would have had some kind of projector this process would have been much easier. The pictures make them look like the same size but the painted one is about 2 1/2 times bigger the size of the original sketch.

Finished T-rex

As you can see, it did not turn out the same, I told my husband it looked like an alligator. I have learned a few things in this experience, I stepped out of my comfort zone and gave it a shot. I may not be completely satisfied with the outcome but I gave it a try. It took me about 2 weeks total to get this guy done, between work, being sick (nasty cold), the new house and kids homework. I like the drawing more then the painting, I had not worked with acrylics in over a year and got use to how fluid watercolors and inks are. At this moment I do hate dinosaurs, this guy gave me so many problems.


Leave a comment